top of page
Search
  • tecaies

Progress

So far so good although progress on this piece of art is taking SO long. It's now a metre and a half long and I need at least five metres to make this piece work. Now here is the dilemma. I need to work to pay the bills and allow me to create work but working stops my practice and eats away at my energy and inspiration for creating. Can't do with and can't do without. I think the only way to tackle this is to concentrate on small chunks of work at a time. Not to try and see the whole picture.

This year will undoubtedly be tough working full time, studying full time and working on exhibitions but it's not forever just for now.



Knitting column. It will hang vertically and spread out over the ceiling and floor when completed. The idea or vision I have is that the audience will have to actively engage with the piece which symbolizes memory. You have to walk over and under the work. It's deliberately meant to appear overwhelming and invasive which is how memory works for me. It comes at me but I also have to approach it in order to engage with it. I want to evoke feelings of enclosure and entrapment. This really is a response to the last critique I had at uni which both provoked and irritated me in equal measure.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blue

Still working out what and how to begin my painting. Drawn to blue and a vibrant lobster pink. Totally going in a different direction. If only teaching wouldn't get in the way. I need to structure my

Reanimate

It's been a considerable time. I just haven't felt or had any creative thoughts for months. The Masters really took it out of me both physically and emotionally. That on top of having a full time, hig

Blog not a blog

Blog not a blog The start of the residency. 11/07 Spent the first part doing some prep work for the installation. I have already prepared in my head what I want the installation to look like so seein

bottom of page