top of page
Search
  • tecaies

Blog not a blog

Blog not a blog

The start of the residency. 11/07

Spent the first part doing some prep work for the installation. I have already prepared in my head what I want the installation to look like so seeing the space initiated alternative ideas in order to accommodate what needs to be where and how. My concern at the moment is the lack of access to the blog . Updates have caused issues hence writing up off-line which is a bit on the frustrating side. However, now in the swing of things. My niece was available to sit down with me and sort out an order to the the imagery which forms the banners. I have 60 images of family photographs, collages, paintings and geographical locations directly associated with my family heritage so it is a matter of piecing together to form some cohesive and readable flow to the work in terms of what works with what but also in terms of tone and light. Each banner will be made up of 6 A3 sheets of tracing paper joined together and weighted top and bottom with sticks and twigs found around my brothers house. I will be hanging these from the ceiling in multiple layers. I chose this paper because the images are photocopied and needed to be able to be fed through the printer but also I wanted the images to be seen collectively and not in isolation. The images in front reveal glimpses of what lies beneath. Indicative of how memories occur to me. First one, then multiples; one overlapping the other. The paper allows this process and the next issue to resolve will be around lighting. There are down lights but I suspect it will need back lighting as well in order to show the imagery beneath. I can’t work this out until the day of hanging. I’ve trialled various methods of hanging but have settled on using fishing line so that the focus is on the banner and not the method of hanging. I’ve initially worked out a sequence of where all the pieces are going to be so that they relate and provide narrative between pieces. I have a day to suss out.

My plan today is to work on the second piece, which I’ve prepped, at Jem my brothers’ studio. I keep changing my mind on what I want this to look like so I’m just going to get on with it and see how things develop. Each band of images is going to be strung on blue sewing cotton with the lower pieces falling to the floor. Multiple strands of images trailing to the floor with strands of cotton trailing out into the room. Do I hang as an image on the wall or do I use the rounded window frame to hang the pieces from? Still exploring best options. I hope there aren’t health and safety issues, which will be a pain. I’m not asking so it should be OK>

Emailed my supervisors with progress reports so all there is left to do is get on. I’m feeling the pressure of having to produce four major pieces at once. Not how I normally like to work and the lack of space is difficult but hopefully resolved shortly as I need to stretch out.

Tate St Ives

Worthwhile trip to St Ives this week. Caland paintings and drawings evocative of Yayou Kushami and Hundertwaisser. The simplicity of the paintings in brights changed perceptions of Middle Eastern art. Heavily influenced by the French art scene of the 60’s and 70’s. And then there was Barbara Hepworth, Henry Moore, Baum and Nicholson. Food for thought in terms of light and space.

Hireth – Saturday 13th July

We made our way by car from Penryn to Truro across windy lanes – definitely not for two cars so a bit hairy at times!! The light here is just amazing. Closed in lanes burst open to huge skies and the brightness blows me away. Truro is the quintessential Cornish town. Small lanes of quaint cottages sometimes cobbled leading to the main high street full of the bustle of the market place which has been obviously replaced in the 21st century by high street shops and well known brands. Hearing the Cornish accent around me evokes those lovely childhood memories. The five of us trailing behind Dad who always strode with purpose. He knew where he wanted to go and just went there, whereas as Mum would potter.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blue

Still working out what and how to begin my painting. Drawn to blue and a vibrant lobster pink. Totally going in a different direction. If only teaching wouldn't get in the way. I need to structure my

Reanimate

It's been a considerable time. I just haven't felt or had any creative thoughts for months. The Masters really took it out of me both physically and emotionally. That on top of having a full time, hig

bottom of page