top of page
Search
  • tecaies

Overwhelmed

So much going on. Which is good and is making me brutal about the decisions I make and the time I allocate for researching, writing, creating and now managing. So the book I illustrated is going to publication. Wonderful exciting news but... the publishers want more illustrations like yesterday. So tired as I am and juggling work and study commitments, it just has to be done. One completed, two to go although sketches are completed so I'm setting a target of this weekend to complete.

One exhibition comes to a close this week - early work which was interesting to have feedback on from a young generation who were brutally frank. Made me view the work with renewed eyes. I've travelled so far away from my initial foray into the notion of hireth over the last two years.

Another exhibition opens on Saturday. Ligistically this is a tricky venue and I've taken on board the ample critiques at uni to really review my curating skills. Project in development but definitely improving.

Juggling work issues is a nightmare but hey, at least I'm in employment! Student teacher mentoring has considerably added to my work load but it's a requirement of the teaching profession. Talking of which, we teachers have a monumental fight on our hands with the government. Kia kaha to all teachers out there!!

Posting some exhibition photos next week. A helpful friend asked me what I'd do if no one turns up. I shrugged and said then no one turns up. If you don't try, how will you succeed?!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blue

Still working out what and how to begin my painting. Drawn to blue and a vibrant lobster pink. Totally going in a different direction. If only teaching wouldn't get in the way. I need to structure my

Reanimate

It's been a considerable time. I just haven't felt or had any creative thoughts for months. The Masters really took it out of me both physically and emotionally. That on top of having a full time, hig

Blog not a blog

Blog not a blog The start of the residency. 11/07 Spent the first part doing some prep work for the installation. I have already prepared in my head what I want the installation to look like so seein

bottom of page